On the Importance of Reading

I agree! Children are not expanding their imagination when they don’t read. More children should read more! How else can they succeed in school? #TheFutureIsFalling

thefabletters

Dear Sherina,

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about something that I find very worrisome, that is the sheer reality that so many children aren’t reading. You see the thing is, long before I was a writer, I was a reader. Bedtimes stories were one of my favourite parts of the day.  My childhood was largely spent with my nose buried in a book – not much has changed since then. In fact, I remember being scolded by teachers frequently in elementary school for reading a book under my desk and not paying attention to what they were teaching!

Since I was born, the evolution of technology has been mind-blowing. In 15 years, I’ve gone from having huge white computer monitors with identically large processors to having iPads in the classroom. I feel fortunate that most of my childhood happened before technology took over.

I remember going to restaurants when…

View original post 540 more words

4 thoughts on “On the Importance of Reading

Share Your Thoughts!

